Posts Tagged ‘EHR’


CCHIT Certification

Friday, August 26th, 2011

By now, most healthcare organizations realize that if they want EHR incentive payments, their EHR software needs to be certified.  With the explosion of healthcare organizations shopping for certified EHR products, the certification process has become a frequently asked question.  Exactly HOW do EHR products receive their certification?  WHAT practice areas are eligible for certification?

The CCHIT Certified® 2011 certification program is one of two distinct programs of certification offered by the Certification Commission for Health Information Technology (CCHIT®):

  • CCHIT Certified® 2011
  • ONC-ATCB 2011/2012

On the most basic level, when CCHIT is inspecting a product for review, they are looking at three areas: functionality, interoperability, and security.

CCHIT currently offers certification in the following six areas, plus optional certifications in the subcategories:

1. Ambulatory EHR

  • Child Health
  • Cardiovascular
  • Behavioral Health
  • Dermatology
  • Clinical Research
  • Women’s Health
  • Oncology

2.  Inpatient EHR

3.  Emergency Department EHR

4.  Behavioral Health EHR

5.  Long Term & Post Acute Care EHR

  • Skilled Nursing Facility
  • Home Health

6.  ePrescribing

Enterprise Certification Option

For applicants offering EHR product(s) in three specific 2011 certification domains–Ambulatory, Inpatient, and Emergency Department–CCHIT offers an optional Enterprise certification.  To obtain the optional Enterprise certification, applicants will be required to execute the Enterprise Test Script that demonstrates interoperability and integration between all three domains.  It is important to note that if at anytime any of the 3 core Ambulatory, Inpatient, or Emergency Department certifications expire, are revoked, or suspended, the Enterprise certification option will also be expired, revoked, or suspended at the same time.


To read the current CCHIT 2011 Certification Handbook, which provides much more detail on the certification process, click here. (76 page .pdf file)

To see an example of the certification criteria for Ambulatory EHR, go here.  To see the criteria for the sub-specialty of Child Health, go here.

At Matthews Law Firm, P.A., we practice healthcare compliance law.

(Disclaimer: This post is not intended as legal advice nor does it create an attorney-client relationship.)


EHR Incentive Programs

Friday, July 29th, 2011

With the exception of dually-eligible hospitals, providers can only participate in one of the EHR Incentive Programs—Medicare or Medicaid—each year.  This blog (with the assistance of some CMS resources) will outline key differences between the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs.

Eligible Participants in the Medicare EHR Incentive Program

  • Doctors of medicine or osteopathy
  • Doctors of dental surgery or dental medicine
  • Doctors of podiatry
  • Doctors of optometry
  • Chiropractors
  • “Subsection (d) hospitals” in the 50 states or DC that are paid under the Inpatient Prospective Payment System (IPPS)
  • Critical Access Hospitals (CAHs)
  • Medicare Advantage (MA-Affiliated) Hospitals

Eligible Participants in the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program

  • Physicians (primarily doctors of medicine and doctors of osteopathy)
  • Nurse practitioners
  • Certified nurse-midwives
  • Dentists
  • Physician assistants who furnish services in a Federally Qualified Health Center or Rural Health Clinic that is led by a physician assistant
  • Acute care hospitals (including CAHs and cancer hospitals) with at least 10% Medicaid patient volume
  • Children’s hospitals (no Medicaid patient volume requirements)

Dually-Eligible Hospitals
If you represent a hospital that meets all of the following qualifications, you are dually-eligible for the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs:

  • You are a subsection(d) hospital in the 50 U.S. States or the District of Columbia, or you are a CAH; and
  • You have a CMS Certification Number ending in 0001-0879 or 1300-1399; and
  • You have 10% of your patient volume derived from Medicaid encounters.

(Disclaimer: This post is not intended as legal advice nor does it create an attorney-client relationship.)